Faud On Craigslist With A Aol Email Address


Main Menu        Computer Tips        Software Downloads Menu

  Main Question - Posted From Penm:
I was almost scammed by someone on AOL...they came to me from Craigslist and wanted me to cash a cashiers check.  Is there a way to find out who owns this email address?  fxdmanager@aol.com.  Please let me know as I am filing a police report on the email trail that I have on him.  Thanks,

Guest Says:
Remember aol is a free email just like yahoo, gmail, etc, so anyone can sign up for any number of email ids.  You did the right thing by not cashing a cashiers check, most of them are just fake and "accidently" overpay of some other reason that they want you to wire or send money back to them, but the money you have is all fraud and the bank will eventually come back after you.  So if they wire you money for a rental place or money for rent, and send you 3000 dollars instead of 1800 for example, they will ask you to send the extra 1200 back to them... .but then the bank comes after you for the 3000 which was fake.  So don't ever wire money back to anyone in this scenario.  Usually they always ask for wire transfer or to get the money "quickly" for some excuse they come up with, always a dead give away.  You may want to use the chat live feature on http://help.aol.com/help/microsites/microsite.do just to let them know the aol address, but it could easily all be fake info since its free.

Guest Says:
these spammers and phishers are ####ing idiots

Guest Says:
the money order (fake) is one of the most used scams, because people assume its safe because they "get" a money order. Usually they request money to be wired back and wiring money on the internet because someone needs something "in a hurry" should always be a red flag to you

Guest Says:
Saw an email from this guy as well. Complete scam artist.

Guest Says:
I wish I would of known...I fell for his scam!!! what should I do??

Guest Says:
Did you actually banked the cashiers chek ??

Guest Says:
YES I DID NOW I OWE MY BANK 2000

Guest Says:
What was the email information that fxdmanager@aol.com sent to you?  What was the scam? He probably uses the same email address name on yahoo, hotmail and other email providers too.


Add your reply below ...



This site allows you to ask questions and get answers from various posters, you may also answer any posts if you feel like you have input to give. Feel free to ask for help with any new question you wish, but most of the questions here are tech related. You will find many questions and answers related to your Ipod or Ipod Nano, Itunes, audio and video converting, spyware or adware cleanup, pc or other computer questions, and even mainframe questions. Although these are the tech questions most often asked, you will find help on almost any computer or software related subject. Feel free to go to the main menu and review the posts already present, or feel free to ask your own question. (Some questions will be closed once the moderator feels they are sufficiently answered and that no other input is needed).

Your Name:

Your Reply:

Type in verification code:


Main Menu

Tasks and Spyware Database

Front Page - Computer Help